The Gender Gap

image.jpeg

It’s crazy to think that in 2015 we still have a gender gap. What’s even crazier? I probably won’t see the gender gap close in my lifetime. This year’s One Young World Summit focused heavily on gender equality. We met so many incredible women that it’s impossible to write about all of them, but there was one speaker who really stood out to me.

image

Fatima Bhutto, author and activist, brought up how women often say “I didn’t want to be rude.” Why is it that women feel they should not assert themselves? Or if we are strong, it’s seen as a negative thing. I’ve often chastised myself for “coming on too strong,” when the reality is, I just know who I am and what I want. That is an accomplishment, not something I should be ashamed of.

In the words of Kate Robertson, women are “under-recognized, underployed, and underpaid.” We need to all, women and men, engage in the discussion on gender equality. I’m proud to be a strong woman.

Leave a Reply

