Kelsey Brown – United States

Can you please introduce yourself and your WU Journey shortly?

My name is Kelsey Brown and I am the Executive Assistant to the Chief Human Resources Officer. I have been at WU (pronounced “woo” for all those not familiar with the lingo J) for 2 ½ years and it’s flown by! Before working for WU, I was a Peace Corps volunteer in Jamaica where I taught youth literacy and education. I also come from a very international family (17 kids from 7 countries!) and have always been really interested in what’s going on in the world. My desire to work for an international company that’s purpose-driven has led me to WU. Learning more about the world, working with colleagues across the globe, and making the world a better place… what’s not to love?

What are you passionate about and how you can help to create a better tomorrow?

A cause I am most passionate about is ethical business practices. As they say, “money makes the world go ‘round.” Every dollar we spend makes a statement – when you buy groceries, where you go out to eat, the products you use to clean your house. As consumers, we have the power to “vote” when we make purchases. We can buy sustainable products that protect our environment, or fair trade goods that ensure people are treated and paid fairly. The more we purchase ethical goods and services, the more businesses will prioritize ethics in their practices. People, millennials especially, want to work for businesses that value corporate responsibility. This further incentivizes companies to focus on creating shared value. Ethical business – it just makes sense.

What do you expect to achieve during the One Young World Summit?

Last year I was lucky enough to attend the One Young World Summit in Bangkok with 2 other WU employees (who I now call good friends). It was our first time attending as an organization and was a huge learning experience for me. This year, I’m really excited to return with a group of colleagues from all over the world and build upon that legacy. As a returning WU delegate, I will be leading an external breakout session titled “Corporate Responsibility – A 360° Approach.” In this interactive session, I hope to share some of the things WU has done and lead other delegates through a few exercises that will enable them to effect change following the summit. During the summit you learn so much and feel so inspired, but it can be really challenging to apply what you learned once you return to your day-to-day life. I want to help other delegates and lay the foundation for action… and yes, I’m absolutely terrified to lead a session.

Thank you Kelsey for the interview.

One thought on “Kelsey Brown – United States

Leave a Reply

