Shahm Maskoun – Syria

Can you please introduce yourself and your WU Journey shortly?

My name is Shahm Maskoun, I come from Aleppo in Syria, where I grew up and went to school. I am 27 years old and work as an engineer in Payment and Banking Systems in Paris, France.

In 2011, my life changed. A black chapter of my life began and war has been announced in my country. In 2012 the situation got so bad that I had to leave Syria and my whole life behind me: my friends, my city, my home, my family, my childhood and even my dreams….!

After over one year as a struggling refugee traveling from Lebanon to Sudan, passing through Qatar, Turkey and Dubai, I was lucky to be granted asylum in France in 2013!

My great journey with Western Union has started 2 months ago, when I met WU teams in Paris during my activities to help refugees who aim to rebuild themselves and continue their studies in Europe! I was honored to be selected  to be one of six young WU leaders to attend the One Young World Summit in Ottawa.

What are you passionate about and how you can help to create a better tomorrow?

Among the different proposed sessions in OYW summit this year, I will be passionate to defend human rights, education, peace and security causes. I have a strong belief that our world is facing today many difficult challenges in these sensitive areas. If we concentrate our efforts to protect human rights of those who suffer around the world, work more seriously to provide a constructive education for lots of lost generations of refugees who flee war and conflicts in their countries, we will be able to guarantee to our world a future full of innovation, peace and security.

As I understand the Refugee reality – not only the despair & sadness but also the love, comradery, hope and needs of Refugees communities, I will make sure to deliver their message and unheard voice.

I have always believed that to be leaders in our world, we should be able to lead ourselves to serve and to help peoples living in it.

What do you expect to achieve during the One Young World Summit?

I will firstly deliver refugees messages, which tell: what it means to be a refugee, their pain, their anguish, their hopes, their dreams and their objectives. I will try to share and debate about refugees crisis with other delegates, in order to make decisions, which will save lives and hopes of millions of refugees around the world. I would love to build a strong network with many delegates to define responsibilities and objectives to work on and to achieve beyond the OWY summit. My team and I will surly present and share the great efforts, engagements, activities and support of Western Union for refugees all over the world, to motivate and inspire other companies to be a part of the solution which will end this crisis.

Thank you Shahm for the interview.

Leave a Reply

