Getting Ready for the Summit – Maria

Hello again! My name is Maria Villela, from the lovely country of Costa Rica. In a couple of days, I will be flying to Canada to join the rest of the Western Union delegation and the rest of the One Young World young leaders. 14212801_10209791570007350_4727107937624900752_n

There are so many things I am super excited about and so many people I am looking forward to listening and learning from. Since 2008, I have been working with different volunteer programs related to education. I strongly believe that, in order to create a better world, we must create learning opportunities for our children today. That is why I feel so identified with Western Union’s Education for Better campaign. Overall, I am expecting to learn a lot what other countries and organizations are doing to guarantee quality education for everybody and share what we are doing from our end.

However, I have to admit that a particular session certainly stands out for me. I am talking about the external session I signed up for called: Art Matters “Addressing Global Issues and Enhancing Communities Through Art. I have been painting and drawing since 2010 (as a hobby, definitely not professionally), so this is a topic that I have close to my heart. I can’t wait to step in the Ottawa’s National Gallery and learn how local artists are communicating their ideas and causes through art.

 

12670481_10208491571948211_6036792514690460516_n
Watercolor + Quote

 

Lastly, I am looking forward to sharing this experience with my peers and our WU community as much as I can. So, please keep an eye on this blog, and we will be happy to make sure you get the scoop on everything that happens during the Summit. #SeeYouInOttawa 🙂

-Mary

Leave a Reply

